The driveway

The driveway

Well, maybe not the sky, but last July it was hail.  Big, giant hail fell that day.  I remember it very well.  I had been home from work about 45 minutes or so.  I was sitting in the living room checking my email when I heard two or three heavy thuds on the roof.  What the — ?  Within seconds, I knew what it was, without even looking out the window.

I jumped up and ran out to get Rose’s car into the garage so it didn’t get trashed.  As I got in, the hail was slamming the windshield.  I was surprised it didn’t crack it.  The noise was fierce.  I got her car in the garage and went back in the house.  At this point, the hail was pretty small,  maybe a 1/4 of an inch.

I went straight for my camera bag to get some pictures of the event and got even more of a surprise.  By the time I got out to the porch, the hail was much bigger.  It was a lot louder hitting the house as well.  I was standing on the porch taking pictures, and I could hear the thunder and lightning getting closer.  The storm was getting much more intense by the minute.

As I m standing on the covered porch, I keep hearing this loud surge and seeing a flash of light.  I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what it was.  Down the street about 50 or so feet, a power line had come down and the transformer was shooting sparks and the power was surging, until eventually going out.

The police and the rescue squad came to shut down the road, and a little later National Grid came and got the power back on.  I measured the hail in the meantime and it was 2 inches in diameter.  Huge!  I had never seen hail like that before.  I can’t believe it didn’t break any windows in the house.

After the storm ended, and the power crews finished up, I made a startling realization.  Just 45 minutes before that storm started, I arrived home on my motorcycle.  I can only imagine what would have happened had I been stuck in that storm on the bike.  I get chills just thinking about it.

The pictures below show the size of the hail.  If you look closely, you can see the layers that formed as the hail fell into the atmosphere.  I picked the bigger ones up to measure them so you could see how huge they are.  On one piece of hail, I put a quarter on top of it to show the size a little better.

