I must be delusional, because it is freezing outside.  This time of year is really tough for me as a photographer.  I am not a fan of the cold.  Not one bit.  Don’t get me wrong, the snow on the ground and the scenery is gorgeous, but I still don’t like it.  And you can’t make me.  You may tempt me if we get a somewhat warm spell,  which brings me to today’s photos.

A good friend (and the Co-Organizer of my photo group) Angela got me out on such an adventure last year.  We had fresh snow, and moderate temperatures, so I agreed to go out and do some shooting.  We went to a place called Rensselaerville Falls about 30 minutes from Albany.  It was beautiful.  As beautiful as an icy cold stream with snow covered banks can be.

I am including a few shots that I took that day.  I liked one of these shots so much that I displayed it at the TCRPMG gallery exhibit last month at our local library.  Imagine this – a fresh snowfall on a footbridge, untouched be anyone else.  No footprints.  Incredibly serene. I really like this picture.  I don’t say that about a lot of my photos, but every now and then I really like one.  I called it “Walk With Me”.  My thoughts were, walk with me as we make fresh prints in the snow.  When it was framed with a solid black mat on the wall, it looked like you could walk right into it.

Walk With Me

Walk With me

I took quite a few more shots that day, but that one was my favorite.  Maybe shooting in the Winter isn’t totally horrible, but I am still not a fan.  Maybe in Florida…Until then, here are a few more.

Up Close

Up Close

Icy Falls

Icy Falls

Long Way Down

Long Way Down

