So, I started blogging last Monday.  I wasn’t sure I would stick with it, or if people would even read it.  Here’s what I have gotten from the feedback over the last week;

It seems that the people reading my blog respond quite a bit more when I write about cars and motorcycles.

Fantastic!  So, I will try to, at minimum, post at least one blog a week about those topics.  I will probably do more than that, but at least I know what some of you like.  At least I can tie them in with my photography based blog. Come on warmer weather!  I am going to need a lot more pics.

Let’s start with my bike.  If you read Friday’s blog, you will know that I have a Harley V-Rod.  I bought it with about 1,800 miles on it, and now it has about 18,000 miles on it.  I really love this bike.  I bought it as it sits, with the only changes being; the mirrors, as something very large fell off a guys bike one night, bounced and hit my mirror and shattered it.  I also changed the seat.  I had the Willie G. seat on there when I bought it, and it went beautifully with the lines of the bike.  Looks, don’t always make it comfortable.  It was sooooo uncomfortable.  Maybe it’s because the bike is lowered, and the ride is a little choppy, but after an hour, I have to get off and walk.

I really like my bike as not too many people have them, and that’s because it was never really accepted by the “Harley” crowd.  You see, the V-rod was designed in conjunction with Porsche.  But, the main thing that others don’t like is that it is water-cooled (has a radiator) vs the traditional air cooled engine.  To each their own.  People will like what they like, and I can’t fault them for that.  Sales can’t be that bad, as they are still producing the bike some 7 or 8 years later.

Another thing I love about it is the power.  Instead of the tradition 5k or 5500 rpm redline of a Harley, the V-rod has a 9,000 plus rpm redline.  It also has a streetbike tire on the rear.  I have a nice 180 rear tire that lets me lay it right over and drag the pegs, lifting my foot up on them at times.  Here’s some pics of my boots, so you can see that I’m not joking.  That’s how I got the nickname ‘pegdragger’.

Boots

Boots

Left Boot

Left Boot

Can you tell I favor laying it over on the left side?  That’s not from walking on the side of my foot.  They’re ground down from dragging on the pavement.  Love it!  Here are a couple pics of my bike..

My V-Rod

My V-Rod

Self Portrait

Self Portrait

Pipes

Pipes

See, it says Harley...

See, it says Harley...

A little Photoshop.  Let's not forget the POW-MIAs

A little Photoshop. Let's not forget the POW-MIAs

So, now that I’ve babbled about my bike, how about you.  Do you ride?  On your own or with someone?  Have you always wanted to but never have?  Tell me about it.

