Back in June, I saw a Tweet from All Over Albany stating that there was a huge yacht docked in Troy, NY just outside Albany.  I had to run out to grab something, so I grabbed the camera and out the door I went.  You couldn’t miss this boat.  It was huge.  I had never seen a yacht this big before.  Here is a little info on the boat from Oceanco.  This thing is 182.5 feet long!

So, I snapped a few pics and ran my errand, then headed home.  Later that day, I processed the pics and went looking for more information about this huge boat.  I found a forum using Google called Yacht Forums and there was a thread already started discussing the boat.  I posted up my pic and asked the members for any information on the boat.  They loved my pics and said they should be postcards and ads for the company.  Thanks, but I don’t think they are that great.

Through The Trees

Through The Trees

What really made me smile was one of the members’ comments.  It turns out that one of the members helped build this boat and it held a very special place in his heart.  He went on to tell us about how this vessel was the largest in the world at the time it was built.  I really valued his sentiments and appreciate the feedback.  It must be pretty amazing to have worked on a groundbreaking boat.

This boat is huge!

This boat is huge!

It even has a helicopterIt even has a helicopter

It even has a helicopter

The images were posted on the forum late Saturday afternoon.  Monday morning, when I walked into work, I had an email from Oceanco yachts, the company that built the boat, saying they loved the pictures and wanted to use them in their brochures and on their website.  I exchanged a few emails with the lady, and was a little perturbed that they wanted to use the photos I took without paying for them.  This boat sold for close to $100 million when it was new.  They sell yachts like this all the time.  Yet, they wanted to use my pic for free.  I ended up not agreeing to let them use it, but I still wonder if I should have – just to get my name out there.  They had agreed to make sure I got full credit for the picture.  I often wonder if I did the right thing…

What do you think?

