And no, for once that is NOT a LOST reference.

From time to time, you will read posts from me about “back home” in Virginia.  Today’s blog is about another town close to where I grew up.  The town is called Cape Charles.  Growing up, it was a very poor town, with a lot of run down houses and old businesses that aren’t open anymore.  Over the past five or ten years, the town has been revived.  There are now gated communities, beautiful homes and golf courses designed by Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus.  It was quite a nice surprise to drive into town back in December and see the wonderful changes that have been made over the years.

Cape Charles is just 15 miles or so North of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel.  I learned a neat tidbit of information on this trip.  My grandmother told me that my grandfather used to take the ferry from Virginia Beach to Cape Charles back in the ’50s before the bridge was built.  He was in the Navy, stationed in Norfolk, VA and would hitchhike from Virginia to Massachusetts when he had leave.  Can you imagine that?  He would hitchhike 500 miles to get home.  Back then it was safe to do.  In his travels, he loved the area so much that he moved the family there in 1973 and lived there until he passed in 2006.  He was then, and always will be, my hero.

My grandmother asked me to drive her through the town so she could see the changes that had been made, as it is 30 or so miles South of her house.  We were pleasantly surprised.  I even grabbed a few pictures.  When you come into town, they have a water tower that has been decorated to look like a lighthouse.

Water tower in town

Water tower in town

There were some old train cars by the harbor that made for great shots.  They look like they have been well maintained over the years and some may even still be in service.

Rail car

Rail car

The old train

The old train

As my title implies, there were cotton fields in Cape Charles.  I had no idea they grew it there.  I was driving by the field and was like “what the?” “Is that cotton?”  It sure was.

Cotton

Cotton

Cotton field

Cotton field

At the entrance to one of the gated communities, there was a small pond with a magnificent bronze sculpture of a man fishing with his dog.

Man's best friend

Man's best friend

Have you ever been to Cape Charles, or even heard of it?

