In yesterday’s blog, I mentioned how much I love riding in the Catskill mountains.  Today, I will tell you another reason why I love that area.  I have mentioned my love for waterfalls in the past.  That beautiful road that runs through the mountains also leads you to one of the most amazing scenes.  At the sharp hairpin I discussed yesterday, there is a small waterfall.

Lower falls by the road

Lower falls by the road

Midway to the bigger falls

Midway to the bigger falls

At the bottom falls by the road

At the bottom falls by the road

If you head in to the woods about a mile from there, there is a 260 foot waterfall known as Ka’aterskill Falls.  Up top is a two tiered falls with a “cave” cut out behind the higher falls.  It truly is natural beauty at it’s finest.

The cave

The cave

Gently falling

Gently falling

Almost three years ago, a good friend, Jay Braker took me to Ka’aterskill to do some shooting.  The first time was only to the lower falls.  I thought it was amazing.  On the next trip, he took me in to the main falls.  Since then, I have been back a few times to shoot these magnificent falls.  I can’t thank Jay enough for introducing me to my love for waterfalls.  He also taught me that shooting waterfalls was nowhere near as hard as I thought it would be.  It is rather simple to be honest.  All you really need is a tripod, a long shutter speed and some steady footwork.

Jay Braker in a tree getting the shot

Jay Braker in a tree getting the shot

The sun shines through

The sun shines through

Lower Falls

Lower Falls

I will give you a bit of information about the area.  The walk in to the falls is a mild hike.  However, the climb up to the second tier is pretty treacherous.  The hill is so steep you practically need to hang on to something while walking up to keep from sliding or falling down the hill.  Once you are at the top of that hill, the path around the edge is very narrow, and washed out in places.  A few people have fallen to their death just last year from these trails.  If you go, please be very careful.

Once you get up to the top tier, it is breathtaking.  The top falls come down into a pool, which flows over and creates the bottom falls.  Behind the top falls is this amazing clam-shaped cutout that allows you to walk behind the waterfall.  You can sit there and just watch the water come down right in front of you.  It is incredibly serene.  Jay and I were up there one day and a storm rolled in, so we sat under the overhang and waited the storm out.

Looking down from the top

Looking down from the top - I had to hang over the edge to get this shot.

If you’re looking for a place to go during the summer, and are in the Catskills, I highly recommend this place.  Just make sure you go early, as it is very popular and the parking area get full very quickly.  There is also another access road that will bring you to the very top, and you can look all the way down to the bottom if you’re not too scared!  Wear some comfortable shoes and bring some water!  See ya soon!

Please subscribe to my blog, so you get it directly to your email inbox right away!

