I want to preface this post by saying a huge thank you to everyone who stopped by yesterday.  I had a huge response to my post about people I have met on Twitter.  Also, I got lots of great comments, and even a few more great people to follow.  Thank you so much!

Today’s picture of the day is a picture of candy canes in a glass.  As I have mentioned previously, the cold Northeast winters make it tough to do a lot of shooting.  I get really down when it comes to shooting this time of year, as the leaves are gone and it’s very dreary outside.  So, I try to keep myself sharp by shooting indoors.  I find something and grab my flash diffuser or my studio lights and play around with it.  It usually happens late at night when I am sitting here and something strikes me to shoot.

In this case, I happened to see a glass we had in the living room that had been filled with candy canes leftover from Christmas.  The colors looked great, and the mix of flavors made for a good contrast.  So, I got the flash diffuser and a black cloth I have for a backdrop and did some shooting.  Here’s what I came up with…

Candy Canes

Candy Canes

After I took the shots I wanted, I took the photo into Photoshop.  I boosted the saturation to enhance the colors and added the black border.  Then I added the green border to accentuate the color of one of the candy canes.  Lastly, I put my copyright and name on it.  I am pretty happy with the way it came out.

What do you think?  Do you give yourself projects to keep your skills sharp?  Can you offer a project for me to try?  Please discuss.  See you soon.

