In a previous post, I mentioned how much I love visiting Assateague Island when I go back home.  Most of the time, I will look for the ponies to take pictures of.  Every now and then, you get lucky and see a ton of turtles or many different types of birds.  You never know what you will see there when you drive through.  I have even seen a bald eagle flying overhead.

Last October, I was down for my cousin’s wedding.  I stopped by Assateague the following day and was doing my usually pony spotting exercise.  No luck.  They were there, but way out, even for the zoom lens.  So, we drove out to the beach and hung out for a bit.  On the way back, we saw a Great Egret.  I managed to get a few shots of this gorgeous bird in it’s natural habitat.

Great Egret At Assateague Island

Great Egret At Assateague Island

Great Egret At Assateague Island

Great Egret At Assateague Island

Great Egret At Assateague Island

Great Egret At Assateague Island

I really wish we had a great place like Assateague up here in New York to do shooting like this.  I really enjoy it.  Do you know of any places that might be similar?

