That’s one of my favorite sayings.  I say it about all kinds of food and beverages all the time, jokingly.  Now that I have your attention, I’d like to tell you about a visitor we had two winters ago.

Here’s the scene…There was a crazy mix of snow/sleet/freezing rain going on outside on this particular day.  The roads were slick, and I had no reason to go out, so I was just hanging out around the house watching it snow.  I am not a big fan of winter or snow, but I really love to watch the snow fall.  It’s very peaceful to me.  So, I wander around the house from window to window, looking out to see the snow or whatever may be falling, and debating whether or not I should go out and do something with the driveway, or let it finish and then deal with it.

So, this lap brings me to the kitchen window.  As I look out, it looks just like the other 400 times I have looked out.  Wait.  What the…?  What is that in the tree?  Well, it’s a Red-tailed Hawk, and he’s eating something while being pelted by sleet.  WOW!  I have never seen anything like this before.  So, I grab the camera and go out on the front porch, under the overhang, to take some pics.  I was looking through the zoom lens when I realized what he was eating.  It was another bird.  There were two legs, and only a little bird left.  I really had never seen anything like this before.  Cannibal, I thought.

So, I am watching, and he drops what he is eating.  I can’t see anymore.  The car is in the way.  I grabbed the tripod and put on my shoes.  I had to get better pictures.  Standing in the middle of the driveway, about 15 feet away from the hawk, I am ready for a dive if this guy gets mad and tries to attack me.  He never flinched.  Just kept on chewing on his dinner.  I went back in after a few minutes because the camera was getting soaked, and it’s my baby.  I couldn’t live without it.

Here are the pics I got that day.  Have you seen any hawks in the area?  I saw one today on my way to Delmar.  Share your experiences.

Tastes like chicken

Tastes like chicken

On the ground

On the ground

Looks like it's a little stringy

Looks like it's a little stringy

