Last summer, I went to the Altamont Fair to take some pictures.  I was heading there to get some pictures of the rides at night, but got an even better offer.  One of the members of my photo group is a blacksmith.  He told me he would be at the fair and, if I would like, he would demonstrate ‘forge welding‘ for me to shoot.  Awesome!

So, I wandered around the fair until a little after dark and went back to the blacksmith area.  Dan Crowther was there and ready to go with his wife Sarah Ritchie-Crowther and Joe, the “other guy” (Dan’s words).  They roped off the area in front of the small shed they were in to keep people away from the very high heat.  I can’t remember the exact number, but I believe Dan said the metal was heated to around 3,000 degrees.  It was a pretty cool experience.  I set my camera on a tripod with a long exposure and took the following shots…

Heating up the fire

Heating up the fire

Getting hot now

Getting hot now

Dan in action

Dan in action

Sarah in action

Sarah in action

Have you ever seen a blacksmith in action?  I have more shots of the rides, but that’s another blog for another day.  See ya soon!

