Yesterday’s blog was about a blacksmith at the Altamont Fair.  I promised I would follow it up with pictures of the rides I took just after dark.  As promised, I have set today’s blog up to share those pictures with you.

Shooting at night brings out a whole different set of rules and techniques.  First, you need a tripod.  Because of the slow shutter speed, any movement of the camera will cause blurry pictures.  A remote is very helpful in these situations as well.  The hardest part about this was setting up a tripod with hundreds of people walking by.  It is pretty difficult to stay out of the way or people, strollers and kids running by inches from your tripod.

If you’ve always wanted to try this, I will offer some basic settings to try to get you started.  I will post each picture and the exif data (camera settings) that I used to get the results shown.

Spinner

Spinner

0.25 sec (1/4)
f22
18MM
ISO 800

Ferris Wheel

Ferris Wheel

2.5 seconds
f22
27MM
ISO800


1/125
f22
22MM
ISO800

1/125
f22
24MM
ISO800

1/60
f22
31MM
ISO800

Have you done any night photography?  Do you like the results?  Are there any questions I can answer for you?  Please subscribe to my blog!

