Cemeteries have always intrigued me.  I am not sure what about them intrigues me, but they really do.  Perhaps it’s that most people see going into them for anything other than paying your respects as taboo.  It’s a big no-no.  I don’t feel that way at all.  As a photographer, art is everywhere, and subjective.  Even the saddest things can be portrayed as art forms.  There’s just something about cemeteries that makes me want to shoot them.  Maybe it’s the history, or the shapes and styles of the stones.  I don’t know.

Last summer, a friend of mine asked if I had any interest in shooting cemeteries.  Absolutely, let’s go!  So we met in East Greenbush and hit a location that I will not disclose for some pictures.  I couldn’t have asked for a better place.  The grass hadn’t been mowed in a very long time and added an even more interesting angle to the pictures.

Among other things, a few of the stones were broken and very old.  It was pretty neat to see the difference in the stones throughout the years.  Some of the stones had pretty sayings or memories of loved ones that had passed.  It was definitely an experience I will not forget.  Here are some of the pics I got that day…

The sun was setting and peeking thru the trees

The sun was setting and peeking thru the trees

The Cross

The Cross

A very old stone

A very old stone

An older section with the tall grass

An older section with the tall grass

My favorite from that day.  Just has a sad feel to it.

My favorite from that day. Just has a sad feel to it.

What do you think of cemeteries?  Have you ever been in one for purposes other than a funeral or paying respects?

