Bokeh.  Yeah, I said it.  But what does it mean?

According to this Wiki entry, bokeh is an  “out-of-focus areas of an image”, or “the way the lens renders out-of-focus”  points of light.

iDigitalPhoto.com defines it as this;

bokeh

Definition: Subjective quality of the out-of-focus image projected by an optical system, usually a photographic lens. * The unsharp part of an image often makes the major part of a photograph: visually we prefer smooth gradations and spherical out-of-focus highlights: this is good quality bokeh. * Poor bokeh is caused by poor control of residual lens defects as well as the design of the diaphragm aperture blades or in-lens shutters. Lenses with circular apertures are more likely to produce smooth bokeh. * Transliteration of Japanese word.

Personally, I love this effect.  It gives the picture such a beautiful look and feel.  A lot of people think this technique is done in Photoshop, but it really isn’t.  It is done with the camera.  When it happens, it makes me feel so much better about the shot I took.

Art is subjective.  Everyone will have a different opinion on what exactly is art and what is not.  To me, this is one of the greatest forms.

I went through some of my pictures and found a few that I took that were good examples of the bokeh effect.  Tell me what you think…

I love how the background looks like frosted glass

I love how the background looks like frosted glass

A butterfly in our backyard

A butterfly in our backyard

A face only a mother could love

A face only a mother could love

Have you ever taken photos that have the bokeh effect?  Tell me about them.  Please subscribe to my blog.

