I have mentioned in quite a few posts my love for cars.  Of all the cars out there, only a few make it to the very top of my list of favorite cars of all time.  Now, don’t get me wrong, there are tons of cars I would love to get behind the wheel of, but only a certain few really stand out as ones I really want to drive at some point in my life.

One of those cars is the Mercedes S Class.   The S Class is a huge car.  It has a elegant look about it that has always grabbed my attention.  While most guys are looking for the sporty two-door coupe, I am intrigued by the beauty of this work of art.  The lines are breathtaking and the interior fit for a king.  You just don’t get any more luxurious than with an S Class.

While we were out of town last week, we visited a few friends.  One of them works for a Bobby Rahal Mercedes in Wexford, PA.  We called and asked if we could stop by, and while there, if I could test drive a Mercedes, as I love the brand and have always dreamed of driving one.  He said he would see what he could do.

So, we showed up at the dealership and Bob showed us around, letting me check out all of the new models that we there and telling me about each one.  I know a ton about most cars, so I knew most of what he was telling me, but you could tell he loves what he does, and I didn’t want to spoil his fun.  It’s been quite a while since I had someone to talk to that shared the passion for a gorgeous car as I do.

We could have talked all day, but Bob had work to do.  After we chatted for a bit in his office, he said “if you could drive any Mercedes right now, which would you pick?”  Easy.  The S Class or the SL class.  He disappeared for a bit, but not before saying, “I can’t guarantee you a test drive, but I will try.”  “I really appreciate anything you can do, and will understand if you can’t”, I replied.

When he came back in I was afraid he was going to say he couldn’t let me drive one, but I was wrong.  He not only got me the car of my dreams, but he got me the mother of the S Class line up, the  Mercedes S63 AMG.

Mercedes S63 AMG

Mercedes S63 AMG

The S63 AMG has a 6.3 liter V8 producing 518 horsepower.  It does 0-60 in 4.6 seconds.  That is ridiculously fast for a 4,960 pound car.  It is also a very long car.  It is listed as 206.5 inches, which is just over 17 feet long.  You would never know it was that big, as driving it was like driving a much smaller car.  It was one of the best days of my life.  This car drove just as I had always dreamed it would.  There is now one better, however.  The Mercedes S65 AMG makes 604 horsepower and has a 6.0 liter V12 BiTurbo engine.

Thank you Bob, as you have just helped me check one thing off my bucket list.  I am forever grateful to you.

Now, if only I could hit the lottery.  Here are a few more shots I took…

