About two months ago, my hard drive died on my computer.  The computer would turn on, but wouldn’t fully load up.  I would get to the Microsoft Windows screen with the bar loading underneath it, and it would go from there to a blank black screen and never finish the start up process.  So, I shared a computer with Rose for the last two months and it was a huge pain in the neck.  We are both computer junkies, so imagine two people that spend most of their time online fighting to share one computer.

It was awful.  I wanted to write my blog, but had to wait for her to finish doing her thing on the web and vice versa.  It was not a fun time.  We made it through without killing each other.  Last week, I ordered a hard drive from Newegg on a Sunday, with free UPS 3 day shipping.  I had the hard drive in my hands by Tuesday afternoon.  That is quite impressive.  I got the hard drive installed and am slowly getting the essentials back into my computer and back to somewhat normal.  Things are starting to get better…

I can not stress enough that you need to back up your computer at minimum once a week.  Minimum!  Luckily for me, I had saved most of the stuff on my computer shortly before the hard drive crashed and didn’t really lose anything.  A  friend shot me a message on Twitter a few days ago, and I wanted to share it with you.  It is all about backing up your data in case things like this happen to you.  It is an excellent write-up and details backing up, virus prevention, online backup and what to do in the event of a hard drive failure.  Thanks Augi for the link, I really appreciate it.

So, now that my computer is back up and running, do you have any suggestions for software, programs or good ol’ time wasters I should have on my computer?  I now have a 320GB hard drive and a 1TB external to back it up on.  What do you recommend?

***Image courtesy of Flickr user Limaoscarjuliet***

