As I mentioned in yesterday’s blog, the folks at Lexar were kind enough to send me one of their professional speed memory cards to test out and review.  I also mentioned that I was having a little trouble getting back into shooting this Spring.  Well, the card coming really helped with that.  Today, I popped the card in and went out in the yard to take some shots.  By the time I finished the yardwork, the sun had gone in and it was getting cloudy, so i didn’t take a ton, but I did wander around and get a few.

Out in the front yard, we have these cool blueish-purple flowers growing.  I think they are really weeds, but they have great color and make for a nice photo.  I got down on the ground and took some shots of them to share with you.

I started to think about a class my photo group recently had where we discussed using auto focus vs using manual focus.  I would venture to say that 99.9% of the time I use auto focus.  Today, I decided to use manual focus to see how things would come out and realized that I have much more control over the picture if I focus it myself.  In case you don’t understand,  the camera on auto focus will select an item to focus on and you have to either accept it and take the picture or move the lens a little and get it to focus where you want it.  With manual focus, I can pick the exact spot I want and focus the lens on that exact spot.  It makes a huge difference.  I am going to start shooting manual focus a lot more in the future.

In this picture, I found the rusty old chain link fence quite intriguing.  In the picture you can see the weathered, rusty links foreshadowing the bright green grass in the background.  This really grabbed my attention when I was out back shooting and I was torn as to whether I should keep it in color or make it black and white.  Perhaps I should do a selective color treatment.  After much thought, I decided to leave it alone.  It seems to have a lot of character as it is.

Have you done any shooting recently?  If so, what did you shoot?  I’d love to know.  See ya soon!

