Photo courtesy of William Hook

I am sitting here thinking about this blog I read over at Gizmodo yesterday and I am baffled.  Over the weekend, someone ‘found’ a prototype iPhone on the floor in a bar.  They took it apart and put it on the web to show what the guts looked like and what it had that the previous version did not.  Some say it is a hoax and others think it is the real deal.  But Apple wants it back.  Now.

What gets me is that this one blog now has over 6 millions hits.  6 MILLION!  That is insane!  I can’t believe that one little post can generate that much traffic.  Send some my way, will ya?  It just confirms that there are a serious amount of Apple fans out there.  I hear the iPhone is cool, but this is a little over the top.  I don’t have one personally, because I am a Verizon customer and wont switch.  However, I have heard that it is coming to Verizon pretty soon, so I may check it out.

I have to be totally honest – I have never even held an iPhone in my hand.  Blasphemy, you say?  Perhaps.  I have nothing bad to say about them, but wont consider it until Verizon carries it and my two year contract is up.  I will admit that I am a little jealous of all the things it can do compared to my Blackberry.  There are so many apps that are made for the iPhone exclusively that sound really cool.

The next thing I think about with the iPhone is do I really want a phone with more stuff to do?  I spent ridiculous amounts of time on my Blackberry as it is.  I would never get anything done.  I get scolded all the time now for using the phone at the dinner table or while hanging out with friends.  I would be in trouble all the time even more than I already am.

What I want to know is was this a hoax?  Did the guy who ‘lost’ the prototype lose his job as so many assumed he would on Monday?  Is this a clever marketing trick from Apple?  What do you think?

