Yesterday we went to Price Chopper to pick up a few things for dinner and while we were there, I started thinking about those summer foods that I love.  You know, the foods you don’t go out of your way to get most of the year, but during the warmer months, you really enjoy them.  My summer food today was strawberries.

We walked into Price Chopper and as soon as I saw them, I knew I had to have them.  It was at least 86 degrees here yesterday.  That’s what the car thermometer said anyway.  The ones at the house were aver 90.  For Upstate New York in the Spring, that is a little toasty.  I am not complaining ( a lot), I just wish we could ease into it.  One of the local weather channels posted a Tweet saying we had a run last week that was a perfect temperature range.  Tuesday was in the 40s followed by Wednesday in the 50s, Thursday was in the 60s, Friday was in the 70s and then Saturday and Sunday were in the 80s.  That is how it should be.  The only problem is that for the beginning of the week, it was in the 30s and windy as hell overnight.

Ok, back on topic…I was looking for a snack tonight, when all of a sudden I remembered the strawberries were in the fridge.  I washed them and cut them up in a bowl.  Next, I grabbed some sugar and sprinkled it over them to take the bite away.  It just so happened that I had a fresh bowl of Cool Whip sitting in the fridge and I covered the strawberries with it.  Delish!

So, what I’d like to know from you is this – What food do you consider a summer food? A few others that I like are (on rare occasion) tomatoes eaten like an apple with a salt shaker, peaches, plums and grapes.  I really like freezer pops too.

Something I don’t like that is considered summer food is watermelon.  Unless you cut a hole in the top of it and fill it with (Insert favorite alcohol here) and let it marinate for a few days.  On the rare occasion that I partake in that ritual, I like Parrot Bay Coconut Rum in it.  Mmmm…but I ain’t one to gossip, so you didn’t hear that from me!

Tell me what you like.  Don’t be shy!  See ya soon!

