A shot from my phone while sitting by the pool...

So, a few days ago, I opened the pool for the season.  For a few reasons, it didn’t get opened last year.  So, this year I was expecting a nightmare of a time getting it cleared up and ready to swim in.  I could only imagine what had gotten in under the cover while being closed for a year and with all the crazy wind we have had since it’s been closed.

I took the cover off and it was a murky brown, but not the pitch black color I had expected.  I started scooping leaves out of the deep end and got quite a bit.  A big fear that I had was the leaves would stain the liner because it got closed in November a year and a half ago.  It was cold and we were very busy, so it didn’t get cleaned out as it should have.

Another concern I had was that it never had any chemicals added to it last year, including winterizer and anti-freeze in the pipes.  I was really worried that the pipes would freeze and burst, but was pretty confident that the winterizer that was added before would still be OK.

After I got the leaves out, I hit the pool with a gallon of algaecide and let it sit in the pool for a day.  I vacuumed it out and added 5 gallons of chlorine right after the back washing.  Within ten minutes, the brown was turning to blue.  I couldn’t believe it.  This was much easier than I had hoped.

The only problem I am having is that the water is cloudy.  My chemical levels are good, but the cloudiness just wont go away.  I have backwashed many times, and even put some clarifier in, but it’s still cloudy.  I can’t figure out why.  Any pointers?

I have been swimming since I was a toddler.  My grandparents always had a pool in their yard, and I spent most of the summer swimming in it.  I am a total water rat as well.  I could spend hours on end in the pool.  You literally have to drag me out.  On top of that, I learned a lot about taking care of pools from my grandparents.  It helps a lot now that I am doing it on my own.

Hopefully, in a few days it will be nice and clear and we can swim on a regular basis again.  There’s nothing like being able to wake up in the morning and dive into the pool, or finish mowing the lawn and diving in to cool off.  I love it. My specialty is the backflip off the diving board!

Do you like to swim?  Are you a pool person, or do you prefer the beach?

See ya soon!

