Rose and I went out to a yard sale today and I found a book that I thought was kind of funny.  It is called “How to Speak Southern” and is a dictionary of Southern speak.

The book is old and yellowing, but still in fairly decent shape.  I checked the inside and realized it was from 1976.  Wow, this thing is almost as old as I am.  It was written by Steve Mitchell and the Cartoons were done by Sam C. Rawls (“Scrawls”).  It was published by Bantam Books.

In the book, the first definition is “Ah: The things you see with, and the personal pronoun denoting individuality. “Ah think Ah’ve got somethin’ in my ah.”

There are many definitions, and most are quite comical.  Growing up in the South my first 18 years, I have heard a lot of these in person.  I can’t tell you if that is a good or bad thing.

One of my personal favorites is “fixin'”.  Like, I am fixin’ to go to the store.  That one always gets me when I am in the South.  Except most people that say it, say “fittin” to go to the store, which makes it even more odd.

So, my question to you is this;

What Northern Speak can you share with me?  What are some words that are definitely from the North?

[tweetmeme]

